Wait that’s my tree…

Our outdoor projects are coming along nicely.  My dear husband finished his little barn.  It is just waiting for some warm weather to be stained.  It turned out to be a really nice size.  I’ll have to get out and get some updated images for you to see.  If your following this blog I don’t think you will even recognize the chicken coop.  We decided to go over the outside instead of finishing the inside of it.  My dear hubby added a steeper roof line for the metal  roofing too.  He wanted it to be a bit more rustic so he went into the woods looking for a couple of trees he could use as posts.  He came back in ranting and raving about someone taking his trees.  I couldn’t imagine who would steal our trees.  When I looked at him bewildered he told me to come out and see.  I found some boots and followed him into our woods.  The evidence was clear.  Beavers  were clearing our land faster than we wanted them too.  It was amazing they have built-in measuring tapes.  The trees were gnawed into 8 foot lengths.

beaver damage

They had even started to drag them out to the pond.  With the warmer weather coming all projects were put on hold.  My dear husband revved up the 4 wheeler.  He was going after his trees!  No beavers were going to beat him at this game.  We started to think of ways to protect certain trees from the beavers.  We talked about using wire to wrap the trees in.  My daughter remembered a pin I had pinned on Pinterest and thought it would be a great way to protect the trees.

Still toying with this as a next project but I thought it was a cool idea she had to put the “ghost dresses” around the trees.  What do you think?  How are your projects going?

Squeezes,

Laurie

Leave a Reply

