More baking…smells wonderful!

vintage 1950s Hobart mixer

Today started out with more baking.  This time I needed to make enough cookies and bars for 300.  This is a special baking session because my husband is joining me in baking.  The cookies and bars will be served at a memorial service for his childhood friend. As you can imagine we were a bit more somber while baking than normal. He mixed up the chocolate chip cookies while I started on the brownies.

chocolate chip cookies

I decided to dig out my Grandma’s Sugar cookie recipe.  It is from back when I had my bakery. Yep back in the 90s I had a little sweet shop.  Well this recipe isn’t really my grandma’s but it came from my sister-in law and if I remember right it was my husbands and her grandma’s recipe.  Anyway it was a big hit at “The Cake and Cookie Company”.  It is a pretty big recipe but maybe someone out there has a big mixer like mine.  That photo of the vintage Hobart mixer it is not a stock photo.  That baby is mine.  She is a 1950s 3 speed, automatic transmission, 10 quart mixer and she is smooth!  Here is the recipe cut in half.

Grandma’s sugar cookies

Grandma’s Sugar Cookies

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 margarine
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1 cup vegetable
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 4 cups & 4 tablespoons flour
  • 1 teaspoon soda
  • 1 teaspoon cream of tartar

Cream the first 6 ingredients together well, mix in vanilla.  Mix the rest of the ingredient into the creamed sugar and eggs.  Use a scoop to place on non-greased cookie sheet sprinkle with sugar and bake at 375 degrees for 10 minutes.  I like mine a little more brown so I let them go 12 minute.  They smell wonderful…on to the next project.  What’s your next project?

Squeezes,

Laurie

Leave a Reply

